I always have a LOT of laundry to do, so it was important for me to find a laundry detergent that washed my clothes and was also not tested on animals! Meet my new BFF - Method Laundry Detergent. 

I bought this little beauty from Sainsbury's supermarket, but you can also purchase it online here. It is BUAV certified, biodrgradable (95% plant based formula), small in size (so uses less packaging) and washes at 30 degrees! 
Picture
Method Laundry Detergent (Fresh Air), 300ml. £5.99
It sells online for £5.99 or £6.00 in Sainsbury's, but I was lucky to purchase this when it was on offer and got it for £3.50! Woop! It says on the packaging it lasts for 25 washes and you need four squirts per wash. 

I used this on a dark wash which was a fairly heavy load (had a few towels, trackies, underwear and some t-shirts). The first thing I noticed was the smell - it was fresh and clean - honestly like opening your window on a cold, crisp day. It was lovely. Removing the packaging (which is a tiny piece of plastic securing the top), I twisted the pump so it popped up and was ready to use. 

You can either squirt the liquid directly on to your washing or into the drawer of your machine. I opted for the drawer (for no reason other than because I had already shut my washing machine door!). It said on the back 4 pumps were enough for 1 wash - and so I followed the instructions and was met with an ominous yellow substance. To be honest, when you're used to adding a good couple of hundred millilitres of washing detergent or a tablet of some sort, 4 little squirts of this sets the alarm bells ringing. Will this honestly be enough to wash my boyfriend's football socks? My towels? Some even covered in hairs and make-up? 

I had my doubts.......Which, ladies and gents, I can tell you now was silly! I set my washing machine to 30 degrees and went about my day. After a while I returned when my washing machine kindly (and not in any way annoyingly) beeped at me when it had finished. 

My clothes and towels were clean and fresh and smelled great! I had no problems whatsoever. It did everything it said it would do and did not let me down! Everything was as clean (if not cleaner!) than when I had used Ariel or whatever non-animal friendly product. Remember please don't be scared to try products because you have never heard of them! There are better and cheaper products out there - take a chance and like me, you will be pleasantly rewarded!
You can also use this detergent as a stain remover. You squirt some of the liquid on to a stain, leave to stand and wash as normal. Voila! 

Reading the back of the bottle, I came across a little diagram where it shows you how to get every last drop of detergent out! I LOVE this. I just think it shows how much this company cares - for the consumer and the environment. For this super concentrated detergent  getting 'every last drop' is probably going to be enough liquid for another wash, ergo saving you money and reducing the amount of waste. 

My only critique is small - there is no cap to place over the pump. Now, this isn't a major problem per se, but it may lead to some sticky situations. Especially if you are anything like me! I basically have a box of cleaning supplies under my sink and once I finish doing what I'm doing they are chucked in!
Picture
To Get Every Drop: look underneath bottle, locate the pink tube inside. Turn top pump spout so it aligns with tube.
Now, in the absence of a cap, I was a little scared in the chaos of my cleaning box, the liquid might accidentally spill out, but there have been no mishaps to report so far, so it is most likely me being over-critical! 

Also, the packaging is made from 50% recycled plastic and there is a refill option to reduce plastic waste even more. The refill costs £14.00, but that contains 1020ml of detergent, so overall you are saving £6.40 (get one for free!). It is available in three fragrances Free & Clear, Fresh Air and Peony Blossom. 

Okay on to Peace Product's Official Review:

Product: 9/10
Packaging: 8/10
Price: 8/10

Overall: 83% - Highly recommended! 



Leave a Reply.